ELECTION COVERAGE: Wayne County August 8th Primary Results

Voters across Wayne County communities voted on a number of things in Tuesday’s primary election. Some communities were greeted with ballot proposals, while others voted for changes in local elected leadership, from mayoral and city council races to votes for treasurer and city clerks.

Top vote-getters in the primary elections will move on to the November general election where voters will decide again on their candidacy.

In Riverview, residents were to decide on a proposal to begin the legislative process to bring back the city’s marijuana moratorium which would no longer allow the sale of marijuana. The legislative language would be crafted under the guidance of state law, which allows cities to establish certain cannabis controls pursuant to Section 6 of the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act.

The ballot initiative failed: 52% No — 47% Yes

The proposed ballot initiative, if passed, would have voided the city’s cannabis business license ordinance and no longer allowed a licensure of recreational marijuana facilities.

In Hamtramck, its school district was seeking levy 3 mills against all property for a sinking fund. The new millage would be in place for 10 years, renewing a previous millage authorized in 2014 which expires this year. The current proposal would bring in $756,000 for the upcoming school year, helping to financially aid the construction or repair of school buildings.

The ballot initiative failed: 66% No — 33% Yes

Grosse Ile Township had multiple ballot proposals which ranged from  a millage renewal for continuing off island library services, another millage proposal aimed to improve and maintain drain and storm water management projects, a millage renewal to maintain current police department operations, and a renewal of a millage to maintain current recreation department operations.

The Full Results on Ballot Proposals and Primary Races across Wayne County are listed below:

Westland Mayor

Wheeler T. Marsee, Jr. 42.33%

Nicole M. Shkira 35.61%


Riverview Mayor

Chuck Norton 40.92%

Andrew M. Swift  54.10%


Mayor – City of Westland Partial Term Ending 01-01-2026

Michael P. Londeau 44.50%

Kevin Coleman  41.13%


Dearborn Heights, City Council

Mo Baydoun  26.02%

Denise Malinowski Maxwell 22.43%

Ray Muscat 19.17%


Grosse Pointe Park, City Council

Tim Kolar  20.47%

Marty McMillan 19.42%

Brent Dreaver 17.59%


Hamtramck, City Council

Nayeem Leon Choudhury 16.22%

Mohammed Alsomiri 16.12%

Lynn Blasey 15.37%


Riverview, City Council

Suzanne ONeil 16.21%

Elmer E. Trombley 12.29%

Brian Webb 11.48%


Inkster, City Council District 6

Dennard Orlando 53.69%

Dee Coleman-Richardson  27.59%


Riverview Proposal

Yes 47.63%

No 52.37%

Grosse Ile Township – Millage Renewal for Continuing Off Island Library Services

Yes 67.69%

No 32.31%

Grosse Ile Township – Millage Renewal to Improve and Maintain Drain and Storm Water Management Projects

Yes  80.31%

No 19.69%

Grosse Ile Township – Millage Renewal to Maintain Current Police Department Operations

Yes  77.54%

No 22.46%

Grosse Ile Township – Millage Renewal to Maintain Current Recreation Department Operations

Yes  71.56%

No 28.44%

Hamtramck Public Schools Sinking Fund Ballot Proposition

Yes 33.44%

No 66.56%



About Post Author

From the Web

Skip to content