Detroit Lions honor All-Time team for NFL centennial

The Detroit Lions could have used Barry Sanders on the goal line against the Kansas City Chiefs or Lem Barney in the secondary to replace injured All-Pro cornerback Darius Slay. The two NFL Hall of Famers hung up their cleats a long time ago, but they were in attendance as the team announced its All-Time Team as part of the team’s Fantennial Weekend in celebration of the NFL’s 100th season.

The players were chosen by fan voting, contributions from the Detroit Lions Legends Community, Lions executives, and members of the media. Years of service, stats, postseason accolades and other team honors were taken into consideration during voting.

Herman Moore played for the Lions from 1991-2001 and is second all-time in receptions, yards, and touchdowns. PHOTO: Kory Woods

Some of the more notable honorees included Sanders, the team’s all-time leading rusher, all-time leading wide receiver Calvin Johnson, kicker Jason Hanson, and two current players in quarterback Matthew Stafford and long snapper Don Muhlbach. The legends were honored during halftime of the Lions’ 34-30 loss to the Chiefs.

“These are the greatest players in Detroit Lions history,” President Rod Wood said in a statement. “We are extremely proud to join in the celebration of the League’s 100th season by honoring our legends who paved the way for today’s players. Their countless contributions to our game have left a lasting legacy on our organization, the NFL and the entire city of Detroit.”

Former Lions defensive end Robert Porcher embraces former teammate Barry Sanders. PHOTO: Kory Woods

Lions All-Time Team:

Players are listed in alphabetical order.

Al “Bubba” Baker

Defensive End, 1978-1982

Lem Barney

Cornerback/Returner, 1967-1977

Bennie Blades

Safety, 1988-1996

Lomas Brown

Offensive Tackle, 1985-1995

Roger Brown

Defensive Tackle, 1960-1966

Jack Christiansen

Safety/Punt Returner, 1951-1958

Dutch Clark

Quarterback, 1934-1938

Gail Cogdill

Wide Receiver, 1960-1968

Lou Creekmur

Offensive Tackle, 1950-1959

Jimmy David

Cornerback, 1952-1959

Don Doll

Safety, 1949-1952

Gover “Ox” Emerson

Guard/Center/Linebacker, 1934-1937

Doug English

Defensive Tackle, 1975-1979, 1981-1985

Ed Flanagan

Center, 1965-1974

Kevin Glover

Center, 1985-1997

Mel Gray

Kick/Punt Returner, 1989-1994

Jason Hanson

Kicker, 1992-2012

Calvin Johnson

Wide Receiver, 2007-2015

Alex Karras

Defensive Tackle, 1958-1962, 1964-1970

Dick “Night Train” Lane

Cornerback, 1960-1965

Yale Lary

Safety/Punter, 1952-53, 1956-64

Bobby Layne

Quarterback, 1950-1958

Dick LeBeau

Cornerback, 1959-1972

Mike Lucci

Linebacker, 1965-1973

Herman Moore

Wide Receiver, 1991-2001

Don Muhlbach

Long Snapper, 2004-Present

Nick Pietrosante

Fullback, 1959-1965

Robert Porcher

Defensive End, 1992-2003

Barry Sanders

Running Back, 1989-1998

Charlie Sanders

Tight End, 1968-1977

Cory Schlesinger

Fullback, 1995-2006

Joe Schmidt

Linebacker, 1953-1965

Harley Sewell

Guard, 1953-1962

Billy Sims

Running Back, 1980-1984

Chris Spielman

Linebacker, 1988-1995

Matthew Stafford

Quarterback, 2009-Present

Dick Stanfel

Guard, 1952-1955

Doak Walker

Running Back, 1950-1955

Alex Wojciechowicz

Center/Linebacker, 1938-1946


COVER PHOTO: Kory Woods 



From the Web

PHP Code Snippets Powered By :