The Michigan Chronicle announces Men of Excellence 2015 honorees

MOE 10x21 nominees adThe Michigan Chronicle is proud to announce its 2015 Men of Excellence Award honorees. Selected from hundreds of nominees, the Men of Excellence Awards celebrate men who have demonstrated exceptional strength and commitment in their profession and communities. These men signify character and dignity not only in their careers but also in their day-to-day lives. The 2015 awardees will be celebrated during a public induction ceremony taking place at the MGM Grand Detroit on June 12, 2015, at 5pm.
This year’s honorees join the ranks of more than 400 prestigious African-American men who have previously received the award. “We are privileged to recognize men who’ve paved a way as mentors, role models, and as distinguished contributors in Southeastern Michigan,” says Hiram E. Jackson, publisher, Michigan Chronicle. “The Men of Excellence Awards are our way of saying thank you to these dedicated men.”
During the June 12 induction ceremony, the Chronicle will salute men nominated by organizations, community advocates, citizens, Men of Excellence past honorees, and corporations.  “It is important that we focus on individuals that are committed to this city, committed to making a change, committed to being leaders and a living example,” continued Jackson.
The June 12 event is open to the public. To purchase tickets or for more information visit
Congratulations 2015 Men of Excellence:
Christopher Allen
Vice President Health Plan Administration & Finance, Chief Financial Officer
Detroit Medical Center / Harbor Health Plan
John Barnwell Sr. MD
Chief of General Surgery
Detroit Medical Center / Sinai Grace
Charlie Beckham
Group Executive- Neighborhoods & Administration
City of Detroit
Dr. E.L. Branch
Senior Pastor
Third New Hope Baptist Church
Reginald Braxton
Senior Sales Executive
McGraw Hill Education
N.Z. Bryant
President & Chief Executive Officer
Patterson- Bryant, Inc.
Forest Bryson
Vice President of Store Delivery
Faygo Beverage Co.
Michael Byrd
Floods bar and Grille, The Garden Theater and The Grille Restaurants
Michael Cheatham
Vice President /Michigan Community Reinvestment Act Manager
Dr. Frank M. Clark
Alsan Medical Clinic
Scott Alan Davis
Program Manager, Business Energy Consultation Program
Jamaine Dickens
DMC Strategies
Dr. Galen R. Duncan
Director of Player Development
Detroit Lions
Darnell Earley
Emergency Manager
Detroit Public Schools
Terrence Edmonson
Exclusive Reality
Roger Foster
Roger Williams Foster Freelance Photography
Kenneth Giles
Greater St. Mark Baptist Church
Daryl Gilliam
State Farm Insurance
 Calvin Hart
Michigan State Police Department
Reginald Hartsfield
President & Co-Owner
Advantage Management Group
John Henry Sheard
Greater Mitchell COGIC
Rudy Hobbs
Chief of Staff
Wayne County Executive Office
Lloyd Jackson
Director of Communications
Wayne County
Pastor Alvin E. Jackson Jr.
Senior Pastor
Wings of Love Missionary Baptist Church
Pastor Larry Jordan
Founding Pastor, International Third World Leadership Association
Family Victory Fellowship
Dr. Darnell Kaigler Jr.
Associate of Dentistry and Co-Owner
Kaigler and Associates
Harold Lasenby
Chief Executive Officer, Managing Member
Infinite Technologies, LLC
Reginald Lee, FPHL
Regional Chief Executive
Vibra Healthcare LLC
Ronald R. Lockett
Chief Executive Officer / Executive Director
Northwest Community Programs, Inc.
Bertram L. Marks, Esq.
Litigation Associations and Pastors
First Community Baptist Church
Kirk Mayes
Chief Executive Officer
Forgotten Harvest
Richard McKay
Global Sr. Purchasing Manager
Renault Nissan North America
Minister Victor Mohammed
Nation of Islam
Ray Paige
Attorney at Law
City of Detroit
Michael G. Perkins
Corporate Sale Manager
Wayne State University / WDET Public Radio
Quentin Perry
Chief Executive Officer / Founder
Taurus Productions
 Dr. Glenn R. Plummer
Founder CTN, Senior Pastor
WLPC TV 40 Detroit / Comcast 397, Ambassador for Christ Church
Joseph Rochester, MPH
Director / Market Community Relations
HAP Midwest
Dr. John Sealey, DO FACOS
Osteopathic, Cardio Thoracic Surgeon
Detroit Medical Center
 Bishop J. Drew Sheard
Greater Emmanuel COGIC
Dr. Alton G. Smith, MD
Diagnostic Radiologist
William Beaumont Hospital, Grosse Pointe & Associates
Brian Stevenson
Vice President – Public Relations
Kevin Sweeney
Market Director
Urban Partnership Bank
Jason Tinsley
Executive Director
JP Morgan Private Bank
Raymond Waller
Brighton Hospital, St. John Providence Health System
Alvin Ward
Executive Director Athletics
Detroit Public Schools
Franklin D. Warren
Vice President
Fossil Generation – DTE Electric
Dr. David Wash
Medical Director
Professional Medical Center
Brian White
Chief of Staff
City of Detroit – Council Member Mary Sheffield
Dr. Kevin Whitlow, MD
Internal Medicine
Henry Ford Health System
Maurice Wiggins
Owner, Chief Executive Office
Addison Eatery, International Hospitality Group
Horatio Williams
Horatio Williams Foundation
James Williamson Jr.
JKW Insurance Agency
Danton Wilson
Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office
Jason Q. Wilson
President, Managing Partner
Wilson Law Group, St. Regis Hotel
Shawn Wilson
Multicultural Community Engagement Manager
Ford Motor Company


From the Web