Wayne State University Law School honored for diversity outreach


Ten American law schools were honored as finalists in the Law School Admission Council Inc.’s annual Diversity Matters Award, and among them was Wayne State University Law School — the only Michigan law school named.

The award goes to a law school that “has demonstrated the highest level of outreach to racially and ethnically diverse students …,” according to the LSAC website. The contest strongly considers creativity, event attendance and overall use of funds to choose honorees.

Winners were announced June 1. They are DePaul University College of Law in Chicago, first; University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law in Sacramento, Calif., second; and Chapman University School of Law in Orange, Calif. Other schools in the top 10 were the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University in Tempe; Emory University School of Law in Atlanta, Ga.; Gonzaga University School of Law in Spokane, Wash.; Loyola University Chicago School of Law; Marquette University Law School in Milwaukee; and William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minn.

Wayne Law Dean Jocelyn Benson said she is proud of the Law School’s top 10 diversity outreach status with LSAC.

“We will continue our strong efforts to encourage and celebrate diversity at Wayne Law, and value the variety of perspectives a diverse student body brings to the study of law,” she said. “Our students will go on to be powerful advocates for equal justice for all.”

From the Web